SNAP Outreach

Many families find themselves in need without having anticipated the occasion. Others simply don’t have the time or means to track down information or details about assistance programs for which they might be eligible. We can help.

We’ll Help You Navigate Your SNAP Application

For every meal the Foodbank provides, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) provides twelve. Learning about or applying for assistance benefits like SNAP or Medicaid can be challenging.

We make it easy to take advantage of SNAP.

Click below to “Schedule An Appointment” with one of our knowledgeable and friendly team members who will be happy to answer questions, walk you through your options, or help fill you fill out an application.

We assist missouri and illinois

About SNAP

When it comes to SNAP (formerly food stamps), we know you have questions. Below is a list of some of the most common to help you better understand this program, then schedule an appointment today for assistance with your SNAP application.

SNAP, the supplemental nutrition assistance program, formerly known as food stamps, is a federally funded nutrition program that helps approved individuals buy healthy food and stretch your budget. Benefits can be used to purchase food at grocery stores, convenience stores, and some farmer’s markets.

SNAP is a nutrition program and not welfare. It is a federal entitlement program. This means anyone who is determined eligible by the state, will receive benefits. You will not be taking away benefits from someone else if you apply nor will it affect any other government program’s status.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) oversees SNAP at the federal level. Overall, eligibility is determined by the local Illinois Department of Human Services & Missouri’s Department of Social Services offices.

The St. Louis Area Foodbank is a bi-state organization serving both Illinois & Missouri! Located in Bridgeton, MO, our SNAP Outreach Coordinators assist our 26-county service territory in both Illinois & Missouri.